{Finished} Sherbet Pips Apple Core Quilt

This is a long post about a quilt that truly only came about thanks to Instagram and my fun friends there.

Apple Core Quilt_05

110 weeks ago I posted a gender neutral fabric bundle  and asked for suggestions for a suitable pattern. Michonne suggested Christina’s Retro Flowers Pattern and Katy immediately agreed.

Apple Core Quilt_06

I was a little intimidated of the curved piecing, so I immediately ran to Joann to see if I could find a drunkard’s path ruler.

Apple Core Quilt_07

They didn’t have one and, in my excitement, I came home with an apple core ruler instead and immediately cut up a Sherbet Pips Charm Pack.

Apple Core Quilt_09

If you have more common sense than I did at the time you may be thinking to yourself that with a drunkard’s path block you sew one curve and then revert to straight lines, whereas an apple core quilt just becomes an unmanageable mess of undulating and never ending curves, so why practice the easier one with the harder?

Apple Core Quilt_10

And you would be right.

Apple Core Quilt_11

As soon as I started piecing I realized that I had created a monster for myself, but not only did I move forward — I decided to make the piece larger.

Apple Core Quilt_12

In order to do that, I tried to purchase an additional charm pack from Amanda, who didn’t have one in stock and instead sent me one from her stash!  So now not only had I been challenged by two IG friends, I’d basically stolen fabric from another.  I had to finish this quilt and it had to be super cute.

Apple Core Quilt_13

I made it as big as I could with the two charm packs, added a couple of borders (which I never do) using white and the extra charm pack pieces, made a super cute backing and then I debated how to quilt it.

Apple Core Quilt_14

I actually started quilting it, but it didn’t quite seem right so it sat basted for two years.

Apple Core Quilt_15

I pulled it out recently thinking I was halfway done with the quilting. When I realized that I had only done one line half the length of the quilt, I emailed Pam and asked her to longarm it.

Apple Core Quilt_16

Guys, I will never let something linger when instead it could be longarmed!  Having this quilt done is the best!

Apple Core Quilt_18

Pam quilted it with a pink, variegated Aurifil thread.  We chose hook flowers in the apple core section…

Apple Core Quilt_19

… and feathers, scallops and loops in the various borders.

Apple Core Quilt_24

Instead of sitting in the to-be-quilted pile, this is now in the to-be-enjoyed pile!

Apple Core Quilt_26

Thanks to my friends for the encouragement and inspiration!

~~~

Linking to Finish it Up Friday!

7 thoughts on “{Finished} Sherbet Pips Apple Core Quilt

  1. Gorgeous!!!! I love everything about this quilt. It’s made with the fabric that inspired me to learn how to quilt in the first place a few years ago and I love the longarm designs!

Leave a Reply

