{Finished} Florence Kaleidoscope Quilt

Last year Denyse Schmidt sent fabric bundles of the soon-to-be-released Florence line to members of HMQG and challenged us to make items with it.  She selected a few of those items to travel with the line to market.  I chose to make a kaleidoscope quilt top, of course!

Florence Kaleidoscope Finished_04

I finished my top a while ago, but didn’t want to straight line quilt it, so it lingered unifinished.

Florence Kaleidoscope Finished_05

Recently, I decided to give it to Pam to longarm and I’m so glad I did.  Check out this amazing work she did!

Florence Kaleidoscope Finished_07

Pam used wool batting and quilted it so that the white would recede and the colors would pop.

Florence Kaleidoscope Finished_08

Mission accomplished!

Florence Kaleidoscope Finished_09

I bound the quilt using the dot plaid in carnelian.

Florence Kaleidoscope Finished_10

I think the print is equally cute in the other colorway, malachite.

Florence Kaleidoscope Finished_11

I love the colors and patterns in this line and I think they really work well with the fun kaleidoscope shapes.

Florence Kaleidoscope Finished_12

This is the year of selfish sewing and I am quite delighted that this beauty will live with me!

Florence Kaleidoscope Finished_15

I mean a quilt in one of my favorite patterns, using fabric from one of my favorite designers, quilted by one of my favorite people?

Florence Kaleidoscope Finished_16

Mine, all mine.  But you can stop by and visit!

~~~

Linking to Finish it Up Friday!

18 thoughts on “{Finished} Florence Kaleidoscope Quilt

  1. It’s gorgeous! This line had to grow on me, but seeing this quilt made me absolutely love it! Longarming was a good decision. I don’t often send mine out, but it’s usually a treat when I do. Your Pam did a fantastic job.

    • Thank you, Pam did an incredible job and I have two more of hers to show in the next few weeks. Sometimes I foolishly question the great Denyse’s choices, but I am always won over in the end, her lines are amazing!

      Miss you!

    • Thanks a bunch for all the kind comments about the quilting. It was a fun and beautiful quilt to quilt. I loved the perfect points and perfect everything else on Safieh’s quilt. The colors were so beautiful together and the pattern inspired me to get busy and create something like this also; or at least put it on my to do list…

  2. I just love this quilt! You did an amazing job, and the quilting sets it off perfectly. So glad you shared on the blog, even if you won’t share in real life . . . Haha! Love you-

Leave a Reply

