Comfort Quilt in a Day (or Two)

When Amy told me last week that her sister-in-law passed away, I instantly wanted to help her and her husband, M, who is possibly one of the world’s nicest men.  Of course, they insisted they were fine, so I wasn’t quite sure what to do.  I called Amy later that night to find out what had happened and when she told me that her sister-in-law had a 22 year old son, Jonathan, who is autistic, I said that we had to make him a quilt.  Amy loved the idea and suggested navy, red and white since Jonathan is a huge fan of the Texans.  I was already hosting a Quilt Party at my house on Saturday, so I emailed the group to bring scraps in those colors.  Of course, when you ask 15 quilters for scraps, you get that and so much more, making it very easy to whip up a quilt in practically no time.  Plus more than one lady had Texans fabric!

2014 Quilt Party_24

Amy came up with the idea of making wonky log cabins and using them to surround a wonky star made using the Texans fabric.  Some (Mona) were trying wonky for the first time — and loving it!

2014 Quilt Party_30

I think we started around 2 and, while others dropped like flies, Amy stayed until 6 when we had a finished top.

2014 Quilt Party_03

2014 Quilt Party_01

She managed to quilt and bind it on Sunday in time for the funeral Monday.

photo 2

photo 1

Even Barclay was exhausted!

2014 Quilt Party_22

Head over to Amy’s blog to see Jonathan already enjoying his quilt.

13 thoughts on “Comfort Quilt in a Day (or Two)

  1. First, that was such a kind gesture. And it came out so well!
    Second, I am so sorry for Amy and M’s loss – I hope they are doing alright. You are right, M is possibly one of the kindest men in the world.
    Third, I want to come to your house for a quilt party. Waaah.

  2. Dear Safieh, Thank you for being the hostess with the great idea and welcoming space for this cpmfort quilt. Amazing what can be done by a determined group. I stepped right out of my comfort zone, learned something new and had a wonderful day. Bless you.

  3. This is Sheila. I am at the QC today and I hope you can stop by. I think I recall that you are busy this evening but you were going to check on tomorrow. I am going to see a friend tomorrow afternoon but I will come back to the QC around 4:00 if you can come over. I will also invite Machelle. Take care and have a great day. Sheila

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

