Hazel’s Quilt

My cousin Massoumeh had her second baby, a gorgeous little girl named Hazel, in the last days of 2013.  I had not yet started Hazel’s quilt, but I had some ideas percolating.  Since Ruby, her older sister, has a quilt made out of Aneela Hoey’s Little Apples line, I was fixated on using Sherbet Pips.  I also somehow settled on the Round and Round quilt pattern from Thimble Blossoms.  I used my Sherbet Pips Apple Core quilt to audition background fabrics and I took a leap of faith and went with Alexander Henry Heath in black.

Hazels Quilt_001

After making a million half square triangles…

Hazels Quilt_002

…I put together my first block and realized just how much I love this quilt!

Hazels Quilt_003

The absolute best part is that I won long-arm quilting services from the wonderful Becky (in a #sweatnsew giveaway on Instagram!), and have sent the top off to her for a little special treatment.

Hazels Quilt_005

I can’t wait to see it when she finishes!

Hazels Quilt_006

It’s wrong to steal a quilt from a baby, right?

6 thoughts on “Hazel’s Quilt

  1. What a wonderful quilt. Depending on the Mom I could see you keeping this one. But if she is very trendy and not trying to match something to her favorite Disney characters, I’m sure it will be loved and appreciated. I went to a Judy Neimeyer class yesterday to learn to paper piece a combo Lonestar and NY Beauty quilt with a million Y-seams! The class has four 5-hour sessions and the first one went by in a flash. I am going to try to figure it out in the quiet of the QC but if I can’t no worries. I have plenty of projects started. If I get any of the elements of the Lone Star done i will send pics. Have a great day.

    Sent from my iPad

  2. I love this by the way.  Do you have Machelle’s email address?  Looks like John deleted your emails about the party.  Hmmm.  I will have to speak to him about that. Sheila

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

