A Cousin Weekend

This weekend I was lucky enough to spend time with two of my cousins.  First, my cousin Sanam was in town for a conference, so we were able to have a fun belated Nowruz dinner at my local Persian restaurant and catch up.  She gave me these amazing ceramic pieces that she made.

photo-96

I also went to see her show, put on by the Artstream Nomadic Gallery, which is in a converted Airstream trailer.  Of course, I had to buy a matching bowl for my fruit!

photo-97

The next day I flew to Washington to see my parents and convinced Sanam’s sister, Massoumeh, to come down from Brooklyn with her husband, Sam, and their adorable daughter, Ruby.  We had lots of fun (photos courtesy of Mass):

IMG_9034

Above: Ruby shows me and her dad how to use the stairs.  Below: I show Ruby how to use a pay phone.

IMG_1806

Mass has been a great supporter of my quilting — she has “commissioned” two quilts to give to friends.  I made this quilt for her to send to her goddaughter in South Africa.

Pink and Red Zig Zag_01

Mass picked the pattern and general fabric scheme.  I love a good zig zag, so this was really fun to make.

Pink and Red Zig Zag_02

I backed it with my current fave, Moda 108″ dotties, and quilted it by echoing the zig zags.

Pink and Red Zig Zag_04

I decided on white binding with a pop of red.

Pink and Red Zig Zag_05

I really hope she will like it!

Pink and Red Zig Zag_03

Mass and our other cousin, Mandy, also requested a gender-neutral quilt for their friend Lea, who is keeping the gender of her baby a surprise.  Lea and I have never met in person, but we follow each other on Instagram, so I had a bit of an idea of her style.

Yellow and Grey Plus Quilt_01

When I saw this quilt by Amy, I instantly had my plan and it came together very quickly.

Yellow and Grey Plus Quilt_02

I wanted to try something new, so I quilted the word “love” into the top.

Yellow and Grey Plus Quilt_03

The binding is Riley Blake “Marguerite Stripe” in green, which is printed on the bias!

Yellow and Grey Plus Quilt_05

I think this quilt is so simple yet effective!

Yellow and Grey Plus Quilt_04

3 thoughts on “A Cousin Weekend

  1. Pingback: {Finished} Leftovers Quilt | {safieh}

Leave a Reply

