12 Quilts in ’12 – May!

May was a month of therapeutic sewing.

During the last week in April, my husband and I received the terrible news that one of our friends had died, along with his father, in an accident.  To say we were devastated would be an understatement.  The day after the funeral, I also found out that my cousin’s grandmother had passed away unexpectedly.  All of this news left us reeling and a bit unsteady on our feet.  Initially it was helpful to plan flowers, funerals, food, etc., but we soon ran out of things to plan.

Fortunately, the universe sometimes helps you out with some much needed perspective, and I have also had eight friends deliver happy, healthy babies this month!  Focusing on new life, instead of loss, has helped tremendously.

So in that spirit, I dove straight in and made this baby quilt for a friend who is due in July.

I backed it with more of the DS Quilts circle dots.

This is the third month in a row with a Walk in the Woods quilt as my finish…

…and I blame Aneela for making such perfectly adorable fabric.

This is possibly one of my favorite quilts I’ve ever made!

Sometimes I work on projects with no intended recipient and the perfect person comes along later.

I was fortunate to have that happen twice this month.

When C thought my rawhide string blocks would be perfect for our friend’s newborn nephew…

…I immediately realized the rawhide swoon quilt would be perfect for our friend’s mom…

…who is coping with the loss of both her son and her husband.

I hope these handmade gifts can help in some way.

I can’t tell you how wonderful it was to have the HMQG retreat the weekend after the funeral.  Not only was a trip to sew with my girlfriends a great distraction, but they helped me complete the two quilt tops above and I made this fun jelly roll race quilt for myself!  I can’t show the whole quilt because we’re doing a fun challenge, but I will soon!

~

Let us know what you finished this month (and enter to win a handmade coin purse and a fat quarter) over at Liz’s!

3 thoughts on “12 Quilts in ’12 – May!

  1. I know it’s been a tough month, Saf. I do think your quilts will give these people some of the love and support they need right now. Beautiful finishes!

    • I hope so, too. I know it has been a huge help to me to be able to sew, and good friends like my HMQG gals have definitely helped me get through it all! Thanks for being awesome!

Leave a Reply

