WIP Wednesday: April 18, 2012

This weekend, C and I drove with friends to San Angelo, Texas to join in on some of their pre-wedding festivities.  We had so much fun, but the drive was six hours — each way!  Since I don’t like to be bored and I really hate to spend a weekend without sewing, I wanted to bring a hand stitching project with me.  I had been swooning over the new Lecien Flower Sugar bundle that I recently stashed, so I decided to cut up some squares and pack up a little kit.  After 12 hours of driving (and an hour last night decompressing), I have this:

I love the layout with the hexagons in between the stars and I think it would make a cute pillow at this size.  But I can’t decide: should I just make the pillow now, or keep crafting and see if I can get to a small quilt?

2012 WIPs:

  • Hexagon Quilt
  • Robot Kaleidoscope Quilt
  • Lorax Quilt
  • 3×6 Bee Top (top done)
  • Christmas Patchwork (top done)
  • HMQG Row Robin (rows finished)
  • Hello Betty Star Quilt (working on the blocks)
  • Rawhide String Quilt (working on the blocks)
  • Rawhide Swoon Quilt (working on the blocks)
  • Grinch Pillow Cover (top done)
  • HMQG Habitat Challenge (quilted)
  • Embroider Bee Quilt (blocks done)
  • Neptune Hexagon Project (an ongoing project)
  • Quilts for Kids
  • A Walk in the Woods Baby Quilt
  • 1001 Peeps Quilt
  • Spring green/yellow/grey baby quilt (bundle ready)
  • Sherbet Pips apple core project (in progress)
  • A Walk in the Woods Whirligig Quilt
  • Flower Sugar Hand Sewn Diamond Stars (an ongoing project)
  • ???

The cold, hard truth:
Completed projects: 0
New projects: 1
WIPs: 13

10 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: April 18, 2012

  1. Keep going and make a small quilt. These would make a great quilt for a baby girl or go a little bigger and have a nice snuggle quilt for watching tv.

  2. It will be beautiful, I say keep going. My quilt uses 24 full stars. With the border it will make a nice baby quilt. Or 48 would make a nice lap quilt?

    • What size are your diamonds? Mine are 1.5″ so each side of the diamond is that size. I think it makes nice size stars so they’re big enough that you make good progress, but small enough to still be dainty!

  3. i just LOVE your stars!! i started a star quilt while i was recoverying from surgery and was having the same dilimha. i want to go bigger, but would love to finish it up quickly too. my list of wips is quite long too, and finishes are far between. i need to work on finishing more rather than starting new projects. it is just so fun to start something new as we have so much inspiration online!!

    • That is my exact dilemma as well. I am overwhelmed with inspiration from all the talented people online and come up with way more patterns and fabric combos than I can ever complete. After I got the fabric bundle from you, I REALLY wanted to cut into it (and my stash of older Flower Sugar) and I thought this was a good excuse. But I know I am only going to work on it when we are traveling or down at the beach. Still it should be fun

  4. Pretty stars! I started my EPP quilt like you. With just a few stars and the idea to not make plans and to see where this takes me, a pillow, a table top- now it looks like it will be a quilt because EPP is really addictive. 🙂

    • Wow, I love your EPP stars. I love how they have the hexagons and petal shapes around them, I willl definitely have to try that next. Yours is well beyond a pillow, it’s almost a baby quilt! Love it!

Leave a Reply

