WIP Wednesday: April 11, 2012

This week I have been leisurely organizing my sewing room and working on my Sherbet Pips Apple Core quilt.  I cut up another charm pack and now I have an 11 x 11 layout, including the white border.  This portion should end up around 30 – 32″ so I will be adding some kind of scrappy border.

Right now I have just about everything sewn into groups of four.  But every time I get used to sewing a sequence of curves, I’m onto the next number or configuration, so I would be lying if I said it’s not extremely challenging.  I have been taking it slow and setting it aside when I have to rip out too many seams!!

2012 WIPs:

  • Hexagon Quilt
  • Robot Kaleidoscope Quilt
  • Lorax Quilt
  • 3×6 Bee Top (top done)
  • Christmas Patchwork (top done)
  • HMQG Row Robin (rows finished)
  • Hello Betty Star Quilt (working on the blocks)
  • Rawhide String Quilt (working on the blocks)
  • Rawhide Swoon Quilt (working on the blocks)
  • Grinch Pillow Cover (top done)
  • HMQG Habitat Challenge (quilted)
  • Embroider Bee Quilt (blocks done)
  • Neptune Hexagon Project (an ongoing project)
  • Quilts for Kids
  • A Walk in the Woods Baby Quilt
  • 1001 Peeps Quilt
  • Spring green/yellow/grey baby quilt (bundle ready)
  • Sherbet Pips apple core project (in progress)
  • A Walk in the Woods Whirligig Quilt
  • ???

The cold, hard truth:
Completed projects: 0
New projects: 0
WIPs: 12

5 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: April 11, 2012

  1. i started an apple core quilt a little bit ago and have 2 sets of four blocks made. are you paper piecing or sewing by machine? i’m sewing mine by machine as i got a template from joanns. would love to know how it goes sewing all them together. i’m nervous about that part.

    • I also am sewing by machine and also am using the template from Jo-Ann. I am piecing using the Curve Master Presser Foot, which enables you to piece without pinning. Fortunately right before I started using it, I read a post by Christina (sometimescrafter) where she said you can NOT take this foot out of the box and be an expert, it takes a bit of practice and fiddling to get it right, so I was prepared. I started out by practicing on the white pieces that are on the border. There are several that got dumped in the bin while I learned, but at least they are not my precious Pips! At this point I have sewn all the cores into sets of at least 4. I now find it very easy to sew the curves where you have the convex piece on top of the concave piece, but I am still struggling with the reverse. Unfortunately once you have more than 2 cores sewn together, you have to be proficient with switching back and forth between the types of curves. My advice is go slow, be patient, and be ready to pick out some stitches!!! (Sad but true.)

Leave a Reply

