Doll Quilt Swap 12

I have been lucky enough to have participated in the last few rounds of the Doll Quilt Swap.  A lot of very talented quilters participate in this swap and the standards are pretty high.  So high, in fact, that there were only 5 acceptable blocks this round! Out of the 5 (churn dash/shoofly, log cabin, drunkards path, New York beauty and flying geese), the churn dash is my clear favorite.  My partner, Deb (Trio Stitch Studio) seemed to love scrappy and rainbows, so that’s what I initially planned for her.  But when I pulled the fabric, I just wasn’t feeling it.  Going back through her photostream, I found that she loves aqua and yellow.  I added in a pop of pink and came up with this:

This pretty calico was my inspiration fabric.

I did a simple nine patch on the back with leftover fabric.

And I even thought ahead and pieced the label into the back of the quilt.

I included a notebook, some extra charms and these adorable colored pencils.

I hope my partner loves her package as much as I love what I received from Emily (Miss Emily D)!

I love absolutely everything in this fabulous mini!  It has churn dash blocks, set on point!, gingham, polka dots, pearl bracelets, grey, peach, Heather Ross!  Emily even used one of my favorite DS quilts prints on the back and is clearly an embroidery ninja!

Emily might actually have been stalking me in person — I just told Liz this weekend that I really want to try Thangles!  She also included one of the few County Fair prints that I don’t have, some adorable ric rack and Aurifil thread!

Another great swap for me!  Thank you swap mamas!  This weekend I plan to hang some of my favorite minis in my craft room, so stay tuned for pictures.

(P.S. Emily also designed the awesome blog button for this round of the DQS!  Obviously, she is very talented!)

One thought on “Doll Quilt Swap 12

Leave a Reply

