The Pillow Talk Swap – Round 7

One of my favorite swaps on flickr is the Pillow Talk Swap.  Not only was it the first swap I ever participated in, but the talent is incredible and I always die over all the lovely pillows being made.  Plus pillows are SO incredibly useful.

This round, I made a pillow for Julianna (jednoiglec).  While she indicated that she would like just about anything, I looked at her blog and flickr stream and I couldn’t help but notice that she LOVES rainbows.  I took that as my starting point, and eventually came up with this design (based in part on all the lovely herringbone blocks floating around on flickr):

It’s a bit of a soft rainbow, and I decided to go borderless and frame it with simple, white binding.  After much back and forth (thanks Liz and Amy!), I decided on this fabulous DS Quilts print for the back with a fun Sugar Pop print for a bit of rainbow there as well.

I added one of my labels to it, and I even tried machine stitching the binding.  It turned out OK, but I definitely still need practice — sorry Julianna if it’s a bit wonky here and there!

As usual, there were a ton of fabulous pillows that I favorited and coveted in this swap.  But one definitely stood above the rest.  It was so ME that I couldn’t believe I could be lucky enough that it had actually been made for me!  What’s even better is that it arrived after a very long and difficult week at work and lifted my spirits a great deal!

A huge thank you to Terri (Sew-Fantastic) for this WONDERFUL pillow.  She put a lot of effort into this and modeled it off of my patio inspiration post.  She did a great job — I absolutely adore it and I plan to put it on our bed, it’s a perfect match to our new master bedroom!  I guess it wasn’t just patio inspiration after all!

Thank you so much, Swap Mamas, for a great swap and for awesome partner pairings!  I’m already itching for the next round!

5 thoughts on “The Pillow Talk Swap – Round 7

  1. oh I just saw this post. You are way sweet. I am so very glad that you liked it so much. Thank you for the awesome inspiration friend. 🙂
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

