HMQG Birthday Swap

Over at HMQG, we love birthdays.  We have a master list and everyone brings a small pressie for the person whose special day comes after them.  I wasn’t at the meeting last month, but Fi’s birthday is a week before mine.  She made me this badass potholder:

Why thank you for noticing!

Apparently no one in the guild has a birthday between January 9 and February 8, so I always get to make Beth’s gifts.  Last year, I made her a pouch and gave her a fat quarter of a coordinating print.  Here’s an in process shot:

This year, I wanted to do something a bit different.  I decided to conquer my fears and try my hand at bias tape.  I used a store bought potholder as a reference point and came up with this.

I know Beth will love the Tammis Keefe kitty print, so I included a fat quarter as well.

It came together really quickly and I think this size and shape will come in really handy — I can’t wait to make more potholders.

Hmm … should I call them pot-mitts, instead?

Leave a Reply

