12 Quilts in ’12 — January Link Up!

Hello and welcome to the January installment of the 12 Quilts in ’12 Challenge!  I’m hosting here on my blog, but Amy and Liz are playing along, too.  We hope you will join in!

This month I have a very satisfying finish to share… I finally knocked out my second-oldest WIP!  In April of 2010, Jen and I signed up to participate in the Jaybird Quilts Hexagon quilt-a-long.  Jen finished hers, but mine languished.

I think part of the reason I didn’t finish it quickly is that I don’t like samplers.  Controversial, I know, and something I took a long time to realize, but while I loved each of Julie’s hexagon shapes, I just didn’t like them together.  When I saw this photo on flickr, I knew I had my layout.  I got out the pieces a few months ago and finished the quilt top right before we moved.

This quilt was NOT easy…

…but it makes a great impact…

… and, most importantly, my little sister loved it!

A closeup of one of my favorite stars:

I had another (smaller) finish this weekend.  A really long time ago, Amy ordered some kits for HMQG from Quilts for Kids.  We finished a ton of them really quickly and sent them back but, for some reason, two got (kind of) forgotten.  Amy asked me if I would ship the last finished quilt and one (sad and lonely) unfinished kit back to Quilts for Kids.  I felt really bad about sending an unfinished kit, especially after having it for so long, so I told Amy I would whip it up.

I bought a new machine this weekend and was itching to test it out.  But I didn’t want to use it on any existing projects (I never mix machines!) so I decided to try my new Singer 185K on this quick, satisfying project.

It pieced together really quickly and my 185k sews a delightful 1/4″ seam!  When it came to the quilting, I wanted to stick to my vintage machines, so I decided to practice my free-motion quilting on my Singer 301A.  Turns out, I still need a lot more practice!

No closeup of the quilting for you today, but I think it will make someone really happy!

So what are you waiting for?  Link to your January finish below!

This month’s prize:

Giveaway details:

  • Blog about your finished project or post a picture of it to flickr
  • Link up to your project here
  • Any project you finished this month is eligible, but please link to only one blog post/flickr picture (it’s okay if you blogged about multiple finishes, we love that!)
  • Entries for this giveaway will be open until Monday, February 6 at noon
  • The dedicated folks who enter all 12 times will be entered to win a grand prize next January!

If you have any questions, please email me or leave a comment below!

21 thoughts on “12 Quilts in ’12 — January Link Up!

  1. Pingback: January Quilting Finish (and start) | Kandra's Corner

  2. Love your vintage machines! That quilt looks more complex than something I want to take on! Congratulations on the finishes, and thanks for hosting a fun giveaway!

  3. Just put my link in – My + and x quilt – my first true scrappy quilt – love love love it – had a little bit of trouble with some professional basting almost ruining it….but got over that and back to being my favourite (I think!) Crossing my fingers for winning the ruler – had my eye on one of those for a while now and have plans for a flying geese quilt – millions of them! – this would be super super good!

  4. Pingback: {12 quilts in ’12 + other fun yearly projects} – Sally's Angelworks

Leave a Reply

