Sunday Stash #1

This year I really wanted to participate in the Sunday Stash blogging series.  I thought it would be helpful to document what’s going in, what’s (hopefully) going out and what I have.  The only problem is that I haven’t bought any fabric since around mid-November!  Shocking, but true.

So in the weeks that I don’t stash any new fabric, I will just feature part of my “old” stash — and hopefully feel a bit inspired to use it!

As with most things, I believe it’s best to start at the beginning.  I used to quilt when I was younger, but I switched to making clothes, then I did neither for a long time.  A couple of years ago, I bought the most adorable pincushion from HappyFind on Etsy.

I loved the fabric so much that I asked Venus where I could find it, although I wasn’t sure what I would use it for.  Well, it turns out it is Neptune by Tula Pink and it was already hard to find at that point.  Digging online to find this fabric led me to flickr, HMQG, many friends and a rediscovered love of quilting.  With cute fabric like this, it’s pretty hard to resist the quilting bug!

I might have gone a bit crazy “stocking up” because here is my Neptune stash!

I’m fairly ashamed to say that I have been a teensy bit scared to cut into this fabric.  Maybe I could do it in 2012?

4 thoughts on “Sunday Stash #1

  1. I do like Neptune and that is quite a (lovely) hoard you have. I’m curious as to how you will use it? Can’t wait to see.

    I like the Sunday stash series but am afraid it would cause me to buy more fabric without using it. Not that buying fabric is bad, but I feel like I should use it. 🙂 I like your plan of featuring existing stash fabric. Sounds like a plan

    By the way, I finally gave in and bought myself a nice bundle of various pearl bracelet fabrics.

  2. Wow that is some stash of fabric…… I was just sitting last night wishing I had stashed away some AMH Good Folks when it was still about ….. But I would probably have ended up just leaving it untouched in the back of cupboard scared to beak into it!!!

  3. wow, that is quite the stash you’ve got there! good luck finding the courage to use it up. 🙂

    sometimes i can get hung up on “precious” fabrics but i have to remind myself that something else equally pretty is bound to come along sooner or later. i’d rather use it and enjoy it than have it sit there.

  4. Holy smokes that is some stash, i could only hope to have a quarter of that, so far all i have accumulated is five fat quarters of neptune, one day I will have enough for a quilt! I have fabrics that just gets petted once in a while that one day I will get up the courage to use.

    I wish moda fabrics and the like were available more readily in canada. I am very jealous right now 🙂

Leave a Reply

