Pay It Forward {a Giveaway}

Earlier this week, I posted about being thankful.  Well, in addition to everything I mentioned there, I am also thankful for my friends.  I’m sure you remember from this post that I had a great time at Quilt Festival hanging out with old friends and meeting new ones.  Frieda is one of my good friends from HMQG and she and I had a blast hitting up nearly every booth at Festival.  She surprised me that weekend with some truly unexpected gifts:

A fat quarter bundle of How the Grinch Stole Christmas fabric from Robert Kaufman (she saw how much I loved the Lorax Bundle)…

And a fantastic bag that she knit herself!!! using one of my favorite fabric for the handles.  I mean seriously???

Since she had clearly put a lot of thought into my gifts, I had to wrack my brain to think of something she would like.  Frieda and I had both fawned over Lizzy House’s new Outfoxed fabric (charm packs of which Andover had donated for our giveaways at the meet ups) but we agreed that the pearl bracelets were our favorite fabrics from the line.  So I put myself to work, scouring the internet for all the pearl bracelet fabric Lizzy has put out over the years (from her Red Letter Day, 1001 Peeps and Outfoxed lines) and presto! I whipped up this fancy little half yard bundle for Frieda…

(P.S. When I gave this to her at the HMQG meeting, she had a yard of the green to split with me, so I knew I had gotten it right!)

I was really touched by Frieda’s spontaneous gift, so today I am celebrating friendship (and billing 2,000 hours this year — yikes!!) with a giveaway for my online friends!

One lucky reader will win…

… a Little Apples Jelly Roll!!!  I have been busy sewing with this fantastic fabric and, trust me, you definitely want to get your hands on some, it’s absolutely adorable!!

__

~THE RULES~

You are eligible for up to four (4) entries.  Here’s how:

1. Simply comment on this post and tell me your favorite jelly roll “recipe.”

2. If you are a follower of my blog (new or old), leave another comment.

3. If you share this on your blog, facebook, flickr, tweet about it or send smoke signals, leave another comment.

4. Since this post is about friendship: if you are in HMQG, you’re my flickr friend, we swapped on flickr, we met at one of the meet ups, etc. etc., leave yet another comment!

Comments will be open until Sunday, December 4th at noon CST, and I will announce a winner (chosen by the Random Number Generator) that evening.

International entries are more than welcome!!

{Comments have been closed and a winner announced here!}

59 thoughts on “Pay It Forward {a Giveaway}

  1. I have been wanting to try a half square triangle design, so perhaps this would be it. I have never tried a jelly roll…mad i know…it must cut the cutting time in half…Thank you for the share !

  2. I really love the tube quilting method with jelly rolls (Missouri Star Quilt Company has a tute). It’s easy and it look complicated–my favorite kind of pattern! 🙂 Great giveaway!

  3. I should have realized you had a blog, but I did not! So, hello, Saf! I will now be following your blog, and it’s awesome of you to share some Little Apples!

  4. Hmm, my favourite jelly roll recipe…I’m just a log cabin fan, so I’ll go with that! Thanks so much for your giveaway!

  5. I don’t have this fabric yet, but have been listening to all the buzz….. I like to make geometric things with jelly rolls, bordered squares, stripes, I’m not a big follow-a-pattern-person, so I tend to design and go with that! Thanks for the giveaway!

  6. I am scared to admit I have yet to try a Jelly Roll – shocker! I have a couple of friends who have made beautiful Hidden Stars quilts from theirs tho so would be tempted to try, especially with Little Apples.

  7. Have you seen Aneela’s newest quilt made from a Jelly Roll? I think she called it Confetti. Anyway, that is what I would make if I were to win! Thanks for the fabulous giveaway.

  8. Oh, my favorite jelly roll recipe would have to be a simple striped quilt made by sewing whole jelly roll strips together. My fave that I’ve seen was made with Sherbet Pips and looked so fantastic with those dogs and scooters racing across it from one side to the other 🙂

  9. I was just looking at some of the patterns in the bake shope and I really liked the Etchings quilt, which was a recent recipe. Coincidentally, the first quilt I ever made was made with a moda scrap bag which was mostly like strips.

  10. i met you (briefly) at the MQG market meetup (market, not festival). i saw your name on your nametag, and i was like, “Oh! I love your stuff on Flickr!” 🙂

  11. I don’t have a fave pattern for a jelly roll, but really want to do a jelly roll race quilt. Every one I have seen is so different even when people have used the same jelly roll.

  12. My favorite jelly roll recipe is to sew strips together (either 2 or 3 layered) then cut them into 60-degree triangles (alternating). You should get 6 triangles from each strip set. Sew 3 of them into a half hexagon. Sew the other 3 from the same strip set into another half hexagon. Do that for all your jelly roll strips. Now the fun begins. Lay out all your half hexies so they make full hexies. You’ll sew by rows however (no sewing in the round) — and you’ll get a great looking quilt when its all finished: http://img3.etsystatic.com/il_570xN.70311255.jpg

Comments are closed.