Thankful…

As many of you know, my beloved cat, Fattie, was diagnosed with stomach cancer this year.  Unfortunately, we started off the holiday weekend with a trip to the vet and a very unexpected decision.  Although his health had improved briefly, he recently took a turn for the worse and I’m just glad he didn’t suffer (too much).

While I truly miss his sweet demeanor, playfulness and near-constant purring, I am thankful that he is now at peace.

Other things I am thankful for this week:

Light …. it sounds simple, but our new house didn’t come with a chandelier in the dining room!  Thanks to a truly wonderful housewarming gift from someone fabulous, we can see what we eat!

Food …. we had a low key Thanksgiving, which was great.  And the holiday weekend ended with a cold day, which always inspires me to work on my roasting skills.  I think this is my best skin to date …

Distractions … my lovely husband treated me to a weekend of relaxing, sewing and shopping.  I have been working my way through these …

So while this week really started off terribly, I’m glad I had this particular holiday to keep things in perspective.

What are you thankful for?

5 thoughts on “Thankful…

  1. I’m sorry to hear of the loss of your furry friend. I love my furries very much, also, and dread the day that I have to make one of those unexpected (or even expected) decisions.

  2. I’m so sad you lost your dear kitty. He was just beautiful.We lost our kitty of 18 years a few years ago and I still miss cuddling with her. I hope happy memories of Fatty help you as grieve.

  3. I’m so sorry to hear about your sweet kitty. I lost both my wonderful dog and precious cat the year before last and it was just crushing. We’re so fortunate that they get to come be with us for a short time and they are so thankful for the love and compassion. Know that he’s rolling around on a gorgeous quilt in the sun somewhere 🙂

Leave a Reply

