WIP Wednesday: The 30 Hour Quilt

Jen and I have a friend at the office who is pregnant with her first baby.  Her little girl is due in the beginning of May and we have been planning to make her a baby quilt out of the Walk in the Woods line since the nursery scheme is pink, white and grey.  Thinking I had plenty of time, however, I took no action.  When a group of us decided late last week to take her to lunch today, I wished that I had already started on a quilt for her, but figured she wouldn’t mind getting one a little later.

I offered to go to PB Kids to pick out the group gift, but when I got there, everything was catalogue/internet only!  I got a super cute pink storage basket and some of her linens and a bath wrap to go in it, but the basket still looked sad and empty.  Jen quickly offered a swaddling blanket made out of beautiful AMH voile and flannel, but I knew it was time to hit the cutting mat and bust out that baby quilt.  And so began 30 hours of quilting (as seen on Instagram)…

Sunday, April 1:

5:30 PM - I leave PB Kids, kicking myself for not having already made a quilt.  Since I have a WITW Layer Cake, I wonder if I can make a whirligig quilt in less than 3 days.

5:45 PM - I make a stop at Jo-Ann and a simultaneous phone call to Frieda to find out about supplies and feasibility.

6:30 PM – With a bit of advice from Frieda and a new ruler in hand, I get home and set out my layer cake squares, focusing mostly on the pinks and greys.  I decided on a 5×5 layout of layer cake squares, which yields a whirligig block layout of 6×6, or a 45″ square top.  Perfect for a baby!

7:30 PM – My husband is on his way home and texts me asking if I can get dinner ready.  Uh, doesn’t he know about the quilt-mergency going on over here??

8:30 PM – Dinner is over and I start sewing together layer cake squares.

9:00 PM – My excitement about finishing is short lived — I need to add a border.  After a bit of stress, I decide on white.  Start watching Shahs of Sunset — my desire to call everyone I know and explain that not all Persians are like this is only slightly outweighed by my desire to finish the quilt.

10:00 PM – Begin cutting out the whirligigs.  This really hurts my knees and I feel old.

11:00 PM – Finish cutting out all the whirligigs.  I think about assembling them, but Barclay sits right in the middle of it and wags his tail.  Blocks fly everywhere and I go to bed.

Monday, April 2:

7:00 AM – I assemble blocks into quilt top while watching Desperate Housewives.  Thank god I have such good help.

9:00 AM – I go to work and think about the quilt constantly.

5:00 PM – At home, I prep the backing and the binding.

6:15 PM – It’s time to baste the quilt and I realize I have no batting.  Seriously?  Another quilt-mergency?  Do. Not. Have. Time! Convince husband to eat dinner at a restaurant near Jo-Ann.

7:45 PM – I baste, quilt and attach the binding to the front of the quilt.

10:15 PM – In bed, I hand stitch binding to the back while watching Frozen Planet.  (Seriously, if you’re not already watching this show, you have to start.  Two words: criminal penguins.)

11:30 PM - I’m finished!!  Desperately fight the urge to text Amy and Jen at this late hour.  Sleep.

When people see my quilts, the number one question they ask is “How long did that take?”  I usually have no idea because I often work on projects over a long period of time or on several projects at once.  Also, I keep track of all my time at the office in order to bill clients and I do not want to do that at home!  But this time I can say that this quilt took me approximately 12 hours of focused work over a 30 hour period.  Even I am really amazed that I finished this quilt so quickly.  This probably means that most of the time I’m just being lazy!

I also think this was a great choice of pattern and I’m thrilled that I was able to find the ruler at Jo-Ann.  I think it’s a fun pattern that packs a great punch — and obviously it can be done quickly!  As a bonus, I ended up with this cute “charm pack” from the waste — the best part is that the prints are on point!  I can’t wait to use it.

Here is our baby gift, all assembled!

She loved it!

2012 WIPs:

  • Hexagon Quilt
  • Robot Kaleidoscope Quilt
  • Lorax Quilt
  • 3×6 Bee Top (top done)
  • Christmas Patchwork (top done)
  • HMQG Row Robin (rows finished)
  • Hello Betty Star Quilt (working on the blocks)
  • Rawhide String Quilt (working on the blocks)
  • Rawhide Swoon Quilt (working on the blocks)
  • Grinch Pillow Cover (top done)
  • HMQG Habitat Challenge (quilted)
  • Embroider Bee Quilt (blocks done)
  • Neptune Hexagon Project (an ongoing project)
  • Quilts for Kids
  • A Walk in the Woods Baby Quilt
  • 1001 Peeps Quilt
  • Spring green/yellow/grey baby quilt (bundle ready)
  • Sherbet Pips apple core project (in progress)
  • A Walk in the Woods Whirligig Quilt
  • ???

The cold, hard truth:
Completed projects: 1
New projects: 1
WIPs: 12

9 responses to “WIP Wednesday: The 30 Hour Quilt

  1. Pingback: WIP Wednesday: The 30 Hour Quilt « {safieh} | Make A Baby Quilt

  2. I’ve given you the Liebster Blog Award! Read about it here.

  3. OK! Take a breath now! Very cute quilt and basket! I think I need a nap after reading this post!

  4. Jen

    So proud of you for finishing it so quickly! I can say from first hand viewing…very cute!

  5. Jenniffier

    Wonderful job and a great story to read :)

  6. great story! you rock :)

  7. Its gorgeous Saf!!! I’m so proud you finished this, I couldn’t have done it!! Also I adore your labels. Where’d you get them??

  8. Deb

    I love this post! The quilt is amazing – I need to check out this whirlygig ruler…I’ve always thought it looked cool. Kudos for getting the quilt done so fast…I don’t think I could have pulled it off!

Leave a Reply

Archival

Topical

I’m a member of…

BWS tips button

Flickr Photos

Ripple Afghan

Marcelle

Yellow and Green Leftovers Quilt_01

More Photos
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

